School Resource

The School Resource Unit consists of one (1) Lieutenant, one (1) Sergeant, and eleven (11) officers. 

Officers are assigned to:

  • Newnan High School
  • Central Education Center
  • Winston Dowdell Academy
  • Evans Middle School
  • Atkinson Elementary School
  • Elm Street Elementary School
  • Jefferson Parkway Elementary School
  • Newnan Crossing Elementary School
  • Ruth Hill Elementary School
  • Welch Elementary School


They patrol school campuses and provide security for the students, staff, and the facility. They investigate crimes which occur on campus and work after-hours school details which require an officer to be present. Officers are required to be in uniform, as it creates high visibility.

The School Crossing Guards include two part-time personnel who assist at an elementary school and middle school in the morning and afternoon for traffic control to assist students in safely crossing intersections. They also work special events as needed.

This unit is overseen by Lieutenant Greg VanSant